Chapter Three

Today’s installment is a reversal–every story has at least one. Our hero has been “going to the bad,” but things are about to turn around for him. And not a moment too soon! But what has he let himself in for . . . ?

To read the chapter and the questions I’m curious about, just click.

23 Responses to “Chapter Three”

  1. Max Stoner Says:

    I think the chapter is very good.You have suspense,drama, and mystery, but I think there is too much detail. I think there was too much about him and the training.
    Also the beginning isn’t very interesting because the story stalls for a while when Mr. Godwit appears. I start to lose interest.

  2. Shelby Moss Says:

    I think all of that information was very intersting. It has suspense at the very end so that you want to know more obout his coach and you can’t wait for the next chapter!

  3. Emily Says:

    Funny you should mention particularity. One of my favorite lines from the chapter was this: “But when you want o.j., water or milk will not do.” That is SO true! Once in college, I went to the local Food Lion at about 10 pm just to get a carton of orange juice and drink it in the parking lot.

    I love getting to this part in the story, especially on a first draft. Often writers, like their readers, don’t really know their characters very well during those first faltering pages. But then by chapters three and four, we starting seeing a world that is more full-bodied and real. That’s what I see here, and as such, I am much more drawn in to the story.

    As for whether these are the right details, I’m not sure I can answer that yet. I sort of feel a bit blind not having seen where all this is headed. It’s much easier to edit from the point of view of Chapter 17 rather than Chapter 3!

    But still, I like all the anatomy lessons–it makes me feel like you and Mr. Godwit know what you’re talking about. I love the scene where he’s tormenting his brother with a rain bottle. And I’m interested in Roy Ray’s dad and mom–how all this training may be affecting them.

    Or rather, I’m not interested, but I think I probably should be. I know you’re supposed to kill off the parents or get them out of the picture so they won’t interfere, but if they’re hanging around, it seems like a natural avenue to explore. Maybe more interesting would be his brother? What would it be like having a brother who’s got that kind of ups? Which makes me think that maybe all these questions about family are really about giving Roy Ray another relationship to round him out a bit?

    Very pleased with the cliff-hanger! I had to click straight-away to the next chapter.

  4. Lns Says:

    I’m a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think that Mr.Godwit’s secret is that he can fly. And that the meaning of the statement: “Wings are a mystery not an accident” means Roy is supposed to have wings and even though it is strange it happend for a reason.
    I think that you should have Roy learn how to shape his wings when he is flying for another exercise.
    Also you asked if I thought that the chapter was too long and if I thoght that any of it was interesting. I thought that all in all the chapter was good and not too long but maybe you should talk a little bit less about Roy Ray’s parents talking about Mr.Godwit’s offer.

  5. A.R.S Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think there was a little bit too much background story. Like when his parents were deciding about whether they should let Mr.G help teach their son how to fly correctly. Although i think it is good how you are explaing how Mr.G is explaining everything too Roy Ray and how you are explaining everything to us aswell.

  6. HKF Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think this chapter showed how he really was not able to be a normal person (and neither is his teacher). Speaking of the teacher, I started off not liking him. He seemed very controlling, and he talked to the family like “I don’t really care”. Him alone made me want to stop reading. If he had been nicer, I would have loved the chapter.

  7. cah Says:

    Hi I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. For chapter three I say no you did not go into too much detail. I think it is important to tell about a heros training personaly I find it interesting.

  8. B.M.S Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary.
    I think he should learn how to deal with his pain before he learns anything else. That way he won’t scream while he’s learning if his wings start sprouting. I would like more deatails about his house.

  9. jsh Says:

    I am a 5 grade student from leon springs elementary. Yes, I was really excited to meet the teacher! he was really interesting to me. He was really exciting at first, but when he was talking about all that scientific stuff, it was a little boring to me.

  10. jbcheaney Says:

    Mr. G cares a lot about teaching Roy Ray to fly, so maybe I can make that clearer. I’ll also look at the conversation between the teacher and the parents again, and maybe I can make it shorter without giving up anything important.

  11. L.E.P Says:

    I am a 5th grade at Leon Springs Elementary. I like how Mr.Godwit comes to help the boy when everyone else wouldn’t. He had trouble with his mom at first though.She thought it would make him to much of a bird, she wanted to be as normal as possible. His teacher works him very hard though doing all of those bird things.

  12. kpm Says:

    I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. Chapter three is the funniest yet because of E.Ponymous Godwit came to tutor Bird Boy.At the end of the chapter I loved how the book pulls you in because Bird Boy was trying to get some orange juice.

  13. JNJ Says:

    I am a 5 grade student from Leon Springs Elementary. I like how you organized the looks of E. Ponymous Godwit. I think it was good to make his business card too. i also think it was funny when his brother came down soaking wet. I think you did the best out of all your chapters.

  14. KWC Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I found this chapter interesting because Roy Ray’s mentor appears. And no, this chapter is not too long.

  15. EDD Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elemantry. The third chapter was great. I thought the doctor was awesome. He knew so much about flying mammals. It was also pretty funny how he would make Roy Ray shut up. If you keep all the chapters with awesome details and funny stuff then I will want to read the book so badly.

  16. CJR Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think there should be more details about the charecter who came in the story as Roy Ray`s
    flight instructor and why he teachs him how to breath?, it doesnt make any
    sense to me on why he so strick and so determined to teaching him this stuff but I don`t blame Roy Ray for actually wanting to fly in the sky.

  17. JWB Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. This story is really good so far I think your doing a really good. I don’t see anything to change. I don’t think the chapter is too long or has too much detail. I really like detail because it explains everything.I do find this chapter very interesting.

  18. I.B Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary.By a mystery Godwit probaly means that he doesn’t know how they got those wings and by not a accident he means it is a gift not a curse.The story is as good as i could get right now and that i hope that more will follow these great chapters.The chapter is pretty long but the more words the more fun.I think that the more detail you add the more of us young readers will have an interest in your book. But not to much detail or you will accidently leak some information thats supposed to be in a diffrent chapter.

  19. ssp Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think mr.G’s secret is that he is a bird too. Thats probably why he knows how to train birds to fly. The statement “A mystery, not an accident” means that it wasn’t a mistake. It was supposed to happen, but we don’t know why? It’s a mystery! I think it is an O.K size for a chapter. You added just the right amount of detail. Not too much, and not too less, either. I did find a couple of stuff interesting. I thought the coach was very interesting. He’s a good coach. Very strict but smart.

  20. Z.H. Says:

    Hello Im a fith grader at Leon Springs Elementry.The secret is that his teacher is a bird too!A mystery not and accident I think means that the wings werent meant to come to him,its a mystery how he got them.He should learn how to act like a bird getting food,water,shelter,and everything else you need to act like a bird.The chapter wasent too long at all because now I Know all those mysterious questions like how Roy Ray asked to his teacher about all those arrivals his teacher traind and why he doesent use his wings.

  21. ejg Says:

    Hi I’m a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elemtary.I think Mr. Godwit has wings or takes care of a group of people with wings becouse Roy Ray turned on the lights and something cried and fell from above. When Mr.Godwit said that the wings are a mystery not a accident I think he meant that they happened for a reason and they have to find that reason because he talked about the high calling of flight and a calling is what you do to be successful in life. In this chapter you kind of did go into too much detail because somebody would be talking and () it just looked wierd.I just think you should do this:”somebody is talking.” He does something.”He starts talking again.”

  22. AJZ Says:

    This chapter is where Mr.Godwit is introduced and where alot of questions raised like how did Mr. Godwit know where Roy Ray lives but, I also wounderd why is Mr.Godwit so strict? Personly I thought that Mr.Godwit secret would be more exiting like secretly he was Bat Boy.

  23. K.M.P Says:

    I am a Leon Springs Elementary Student. This chapter is very intersting it pulls you right in.I like the part where Mr.G starts scaring Roy Ray by saying that he is going aganist Gunther Kempgartner. Later in the chapter it seems Roy is annoyed by Gunther cause Mr.G keeps on talking about him.

Leave a Reply

