Chapter Four

The tutor who appeared in the last chapter has a big secret, and now you find out what it is. And how did it happen?? All will be revealed . . . Or not quite. We still have 17 chapters to go! You’ll find it here.

21 Responses to “Chapter Four”

  1. Shelby Moss Says:

    I don’t think that it has too much back drop. You have left out some of the Coach’s story which makes the readers want to know the rest along with Roy. I can’t wait to read the next chapter!!

  2. Emily Says:

    My feeling is that you might want to save some of this for later. Maybe he could get an abridged version–just the high points? I think it’s colorful, but I’d like to see Roy Ray earn some of it. It would probably be more meaningful for Roy Ray (and the reader) if he heard this after a particularly nasty training session, maybe after he’s tried to live up to his coach’s standards (or maybe his mom or dad’s?) and failed.

  3. Lns Says:

    I’m a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I like the backstory a lot and esspecially how it keeps you in the moment by having Mr.Godwit and Roy talking ocasionally, but again I think that you should think about shortening it a little bit. Maybe you should talk less about all the other creatures and how they might or might not be real.

  4. A.R.S Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I think all the information about Edward was too much. You should just give a little bit of information. You had alot of details, but i thought they were good. So maybe you should shorten the details and combine the little details to a couple of big ones. Over all i think your details were fine.

  5. cah Says:

    Hi I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. No. You did not give too much information. In fact I enjoy all the information I think it makes the story more intresting.

  6. HKF Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I thought this was a very good chapter, but it still left me wanting more. also, I don’t understand the teacher’s purpose in the story. He doesn’t seem to be moving the plot along. I really think you should change him. A LOT. He should be more understanding, and also more honest.

  7. B.M.S Says:

    I am a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I can’t tell if Mr. G is going to be a bird-person also. I think Roy Ray has a right to know if his teacher is a bird man. I thought it was a really good amount of backstory. I like backstory because it helps me understand more.

  8. jsh Says:

    I am a 5 grade student from leon springs elementary. I think personally that it was just enough back story. Not too much or to little. About the quote “when you think you already know, you don’t see.” I think this is true, mostly for adults though, because kids have more imagination and see pictures in books all the time.

  9. jbcheaney Says:

    I think Emily, Lns, ARS and a few others are right, and some of this information can be revealed later. I can substitute some action for some of the explanation–I’ll be thinking about this. As for changing Mr. G, sometimes it’s hard to do that. Characters appear in my head pretty much as they are, and as time goes on I come to know more about them, but they don’t really change. It’s hard to explain, but an author’s characters are real people to her, and she can’t just change them at will. If you don’t like him now, remember he’s had a tough life and overcome a lot. Also, he feels he has to be tough on Roy Ray because the kid is basically lazy and needs to pushed.

  10. kpm Says:

    I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. This is the best chapter I have read so far. It gets so exciting at the begining because it turns out that E. Ponymous Godwit is also a bird. It just grabs you right in.

  11. L.E.P Says:

    I am a 5th grade at Leon Springs Elementary. I think chapter 4 went on to long. Although it was very interesting to find out that his teacher was a bird. Still it seemed to keep going on. I like what I have read so far in these chapters.

  12. JNJ Says:

    I am a 5th grade at Leon Springs Elementary. The forth chapther kind of got me lost. Some of it was confusing. It was O.K. That was very odd (in a good way) when he finds out about bat boy. I thought that was very interesting. Anyway like I said it was O.K.

  13. KWC Says:

    I am a 5th grade at Leon Springs Elementary. No, there isn’t too much backstory. But that explains why his teacher knows so much about Avials, because he is one!

  14. EDD Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elemantry. The first couple sentences kind of got me confused. I mean not badly but just kind of. What got me confused was when you started talking about somebody falling. The rest of the chapter was very good.

  15. AJZ Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I absolutly love this chapter it has just enough action like when Roy Ray finds out his teacher is a bird. If i would change anything it would be the back story on MR.Godwit but at the same time it is good to know.

  16. I.B Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. Well His back was twitching and he had a rather large hump on his back. Also when you started writing about Mr.Godwit(Edward)it did not do much but only reveal the magnificgent and wierd past of Mr.Godwit. I also do not think it is true of “when you think you already know, you dont see” but it is a good saying. I thought it meant like if you think you already know but you dont see means like You get a awnser on a test and your way too over confident on the question then you get it wrong you cant just let go of the feeling of getting it wrong. I think i did this the wrong way. Well another reason i dont think its true is because im seriously confused by that qoute.

  17. ssp Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. It’s not very likely that he sat down on it and didn’t insist on an explanation. I would realy want an explanation. I’d be raelly curious. And same answer from the other question, I dont think the chapter is too long. there is enough details. You Expect to see something, but when you look closely you don’t see anything. You think you know something but you don’t. Thats what i think the saying “When you think you already know, you don’t see.” means.

  18. Z.H. Says:

    Hello Im a student at Leon Springs Elementry.Its too much backstory because now you just gave away the good parts,a reader has to find out the good parts in the story,not the
    backstory.I think kids would beleive what they see more because they have more imagination than anyone,and have more dreams that really get them up more,and they beleive
    in alot of imaginary stuff than adults do.

  19. JWB Says:

    I don’t think this is too much I really like backstory so it explains stuff that doesn’t that appears at first.It remids me of show named lost because nothing ever makes sense until it shows the backstory like when the passengers crash I’m like why are they even on the plane until the next episode it shows why all of them are on the plane. I think it is true when you think you already know, you don’t see.I think kids do that more than adults.

  20. ejg Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. In chapter 3 it says Mr.Godwit has short feet, and at the end of that chapter it said that he slept somewhere in the ceiling. Thats pretty much the only things that I’ll count as “birdy”. Roy Ray would want an explanation especially because he thought he was the only person with wings alive. I’d also want an explantion because the possibility that another person had wings would make me want an explanation too. No its not too much backstory because readers would probably want to see how Mr.Godwit knew so much about avians. For that saying I think its more kids than adult becuse kids tend to jump to cuncllusions alot.

  21. HKF Says:

    I am a fifth grade student at Leon Springs Elementary. I like this chapter a lot. I think it shows a lot of progress in the training and I like to know what he does in this area. I also like the fact that there are other avials in existence. It does take away some interest in the story, but I don’t like it when authors exaggerate the importance of the character’s existence.

Leave a Reply

