Chapter Thirteen

“The die is cast”–ever heard that saying?  The Roman general and politician Julius Caesar supposedly said that when he made up his mind to go to Rome and start a war with his rival Quirinius Pompey.  Then he led his army across the Rubicon River and the war started.  Ever since, “crossing the Rubicon” has become a figure of speech for making a decision or performing an action that you can’t back out of.  Most stories have a “crossing the Rubicon” moment, or several, and here’s Roy Ray’s moment.  But he doesn’t exactly cross the Rubicon–he’s carried over it.  He didn’t make the decision, but he’s going to have to bear the consequences of it, and at first it looks like . . . But I don’t want to get ahead of myself.    You can read the chapter here.

My main question for this chapter is, do you understand what’s happened at the end? And did you see it coming?

15 Responses to “Chapter Thirteen”

  1. Shelby Moss Says:

    I had a feeling that Roy was going to get kidnapped but I didn’t know how they were going to manage it. My big “I wonder” is what the thing that banged into him in Chapter 12 was and the thing that was on the hotel roof, and, of course, the radio!!!! How does that fit in? Is it some sort of secret language? Will Delphi figure it out or will Roy Ray? Also, is Mr. G’s kidnappers (if he was really kidnapped) the same as Roy’s? I’m sorry, I know that this is a lot of questions that will probably be answered in the coming chapters but these are what I really want to know. I don’t know if this is the kind of thing you want or not but I hope that this helps! If I didn’t answer the questions that you asked please let me know and I will try to get them answered!!! Happy Writing!!!

  2. max stoner Says:

    Right away I knew he was going to get kidnapped, the man’s frantic unbuckling of the seat belt really gave it away. I don’t understand what happened at the end though. My biggest questions are why did they capture Roy and how/are the thing on the roof and the kidnappers connected?

  3. lns Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Springs Elementary School.
    You asked if I understood what happend at the end, and did I see it coming. I didn’t see it coming, but I liked it. I thought it was a little confusing, but I liked it and if I were you I would keep it.

  4. K.M.P Says:

    I am a 5th grader at Leon Springs. At the end of the chapter Roy Ray gets kidnapped on a roof. I am wondering why they kidnapped Roy Ray? I am also wondering why there is a kind of new character Quentin?

  5. Z.H Says:

    I’m a 5th grade student at Leon Springs Elementary.”No” I did not understand because it just said suddenly “Roy Ray turned to the driver,who was starting to look a little famaliar….Maxwell?he asked.The man glanced his way with a fleeing smile.No Bob.”I didn’t really get that part and it was preety funny how it said that.”Yes” it did come suddenly.

  6. LJO Says:

    I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary and you asked if I saw the end coming and belive me I did not see that comeing and I like it.

  7. A.R.S Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Spring Elemantary. I did not see that coming with the whole swithching cars and his dad letting him drive with those people, but i do think it is really good and creative. I am a little confused about where is he and do his parents know what happened to him. I think you just need to add a few more details tohis chapter.

  8. AJZ Says:

    I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. First of all I don’t know what ” The die cast ” I have never heard that saying or know what it means. And second of all to your question I don’t get the ending I mean I didn’t even see the tour coming at the begining of the story.

  9. EJG Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Spring Elemantary.I understood that Bob had kidnapped Roy Ray the moment the did the thing with the car. Thats how I saw the kidnap coming.

  10. HKF Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Springs Elementary School. You’re right, this is his moment, and you did it perfectly. I would like to add that you hid the end very well and I understood just fine.

  11. ssp Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Springs Elementary School. I definetly did not see this coming. I didnt really understand it, though. i mean is it bad that bob was the driver? could that change things? Im not really sure.

  12. jsh Says:

    I am a student at Leon Springs Elementary. Yes I did but it was yes and no for the see it coming because there were clue’s but something made me think about those clue’s that it was also no.In this chapter I still love the mystery at the end it hooked me wanting to know more.

  13. IEB Says:

    I am a fifth grader at Leon Spring Elemantary. The die is cast know i have never ever heard that saying before the only saying i know is ” The pen is mighter than the sword”. I do kind of understand what happened at the end but not really it got me confused at first but i caught on to it so i could understand everything about it. Oh and i did not notice this because it was a huge suprise that boy showed up and justled him into the truck and when Roy Ray said is that you Maxwell. All the driver says is “No:Bob”. That was what ot my attention that word is just so……….. Random. Like Bob the builder or “What up Bob” or even “Gimme some lambchops Bob”. This might semm a bit wierd but that random word got my attention. Bob is such a random but funny word.

    • jbcheaney Says:

      For some reason, Bob IS a funny name. The “joke” here is that people are always getting the twins mixed up, even Aunt Flavia who often ends up getting engaged to one or the other of them. But they’re obviously cooperating with the kidnappers, so they probably weren’t who they were pretending to be in the earlier chapters . . .

Leave a Reply

